Build Your Binder

5 Mar

This is my binder.  I never leave home without it.  You never know when or where you will find a great deal!

Everyone has their own preferences on organizing coupons.  This is how I have organized my binder.  Use or change any steps you’d like to make your binder more efficient for you.

Step 1
First you need a binder!  I bought my binder on eBay, though you can find other great deals in the fall with Back To School sales.  I currently have a 3″ binder, that is really a bit big.  I would suggest a 2″ binder…which can be found for under $4 (free shipping) on eBay.

Step 2
You will need baseball card/coupon sleeves.  Again I found mine on eBay.  Start off with 20 pages or so and add on as your coupon collection grows.  I like the 9 pocket pages (they will hold the most coupons per page).  My_Fatbelly is the seller I use on eBay for these.  He sells 20 coupon/baseball card sleeves for $7.19 (free shipping).

Step 3
Last you will need to get some tabbed dividers.  Walmart has them, and again you can find them on ebay cheap with free shipping.  Go ahead and grab 20, one for each of your coupon sleeves.The sections I use are as follows:
Frozen, Meats, Dairy, Rice/Potato, Sauce/condiments, Canned, Baking, Snacks/Cereal, Coffee/Drinks, Household Cleaners, Pets, Hygiene, Hair, Household items, Cosmetics, Meds, and Misc.  You may need more, fewer, or different categories.

Once you have all the parts to your binder, put it together however makes most sense to you.  You will probably change it around a couple times before you are totally happy with it.

Now it’s time to put your coupons in!  You will need to fold your coupons in a way where you can see what the item is, how much off the coupon is, and the expiration date.  You can use both sides of your sleeves, so each sleeve will hold 18 different coupons. Some people put them in with the expiring coupons first.  I don’t go that far.  Within a section, I group similar coupons together (in Hygiene I group together the body wash, group together feminine products, deodorants…etc)  Each week when I add new coupons I throw out my expired ones.

One great thing to keep in your binder is a copy of your stores Coupon Policy.  Know this policy, because a lot of cashiers and even managers do not!  There have been several occasions where I was told I could not use a particular coupon by a manager, and I had to pull out their own coupon policy and show them that I could.  If you have to do this, be as polite as possible.  Being rude will get you nowhere, especially since most policies do state that a manager can refuse a coupon at any time.

Now you are ready!  Walk around your store and get familiar with your binder and what coupons you have.  Take home the weekly sale paper (usually comes in the mail Tuesday or Wednesday and also some are in the Sunday paper)  If you decide to pull your coupons before you go to the store, still take your binder with you.  At first I didn’t want to go to the store with a binder because I didn’t want everyone to think I was one of those crazy coupon ladies, but missed out on so many unadvertised deals I found when I was there. Now I am a crazy coupon lady and proud of it! 🙂

Leave a comment below!

One Response to “Build Your Binder”

  1. gundam March 10, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    thanks.very good blog and very good share.

Leave a Reply

